Ireland to Host World Amateur Team Championships in 2018

Following the successful staging of the 2014 event in Japan, organisers have confirmed the 2018 World Amateur Team Championships will go to Ireland. Picture by Steven Gibbons/USGA
Following the successful staging of the 2014 event in Japan, organisers have confirmed the 2018 World Amateur Team Championships will go to Ireland. Picture by Steven Gibbons/USGA

Karuizawa, Japan: Ireland has been selected as the site of the 2018 World Amateur Team Championships.
The Montgomerie and O’Meara courses at Carton House, in Maynooth near Dublin, will be used for the championships.
These championships will be hosted by the Golfing Union of Ireland (GUI) and the Irish Ladies Golf Union (ILGU). The 28th women’s championship for the Espirito Santo Trophy and the 31st men’s championship for the Eisenhower Trophy will be played in late August and early September 2018.
The O’Meara Course has hosted the 2005 Irish Amateur Open and the 2005 East Leinster Ladies Championship. The Montgomerie Course has been the site of the 2005, 2006 and 2013 Irish Open, the 2004 Irish Amateur Open and the 2012 European Amateur.
International Golf Federation (IGF) Executive Director Antony Scanlon said: “I am excited that the World Amateur Team Championships will be going to Ireland in 2018, in a country with great golfing tradition and experience in hosting major golf events such as the Ryder Cup. I am sure the players will have a wonderful experience in Ireland.”
Pat Finn, General Secretary of the GUI, said: “Our organisations are proud to be confirmed as hosts of the 2018 World Amateur Team Championships. Ireland’s tradition of welcoming visitors and forging friendships is consistent with the ethos of the championships, which we are eager to uphold.”
Both championships feature the world’s leading amateurs and are played over 72 holes of stroke play. Each country is represented by a team of two or three players.
The men’s competition of the 2014 World Amateur Team Championship, hosted by the Japan Golf Association, was played at Karuizawa 72 Golf East (Iriyama and Oshitate Courses) in Karuizawa, Japan with 67 teams competing.
The 2014 Women’s World Amateur Team Championship concluded on September 6 with Australia claiming its third Espirito Santo Trophy, by two strokes over Canada. A total of 50 teams competed in the championship.
The 2016 Championships will be played in Cancun, Mexico.
The World Amateur Team Championships are a biennial international amateur competition conducted by the IGF, which comprises national governing bodies of golf in 131 countries. The competition is rotated among three geographic zones: Asia-Pacific, Americas and Europe-Africa.
The IGF is the international federation recognised by the International Olympic Committee as the world governing body for golf. In addition to the World Amateur Team Championships, the IGF also organises the golf competitions at the Olympic Games and the Youth Olympic Games.

Related Articles

Fitting Tribute to Arnold Palmer’s Father

New Jersey, United States: The USGA has launched ‘Deacon’, a golf course management tool created to help operators improve the golfer experience by delivering better playing conditions while optimising and prioritising critical resource consumption.

Read More »
We hope that you enjoy and value the information provided by the AGIF on our website and via our other multi-media channels. As a not-for-profit organisation, the AGIF relies largely upon membership dues to fund its operations. This is especially true during the Covid-19 period. AGIF Membership also has its privileges. In joining the AGIF, you will have the opportunity to publicise your brand and activities and participate in the Federation’s educational events at discounted prices. We welcome you to join the AGIF. In doing so, you will be supporting your brand and the industry. For more information, please see Membership Benefit page.