World Golf Hall of Fame Reveals Finalists for 2019 Induction Class

St Augustine, Florida, United States: The World Golf Hall of Fame & Museum has released the names of 15 finalists who will be considered for class enshrinement in 2019.
The list of finalists includes men and women representing four different countries, and consists of candidates from the following four categories: Male Competitor, Female Competitor, Lifetime Achievement and Veterans.
Below is the list of finalists (listed alphabetically by category).
Male Competitor (4)
Retief Goosen (South Africa)
Graham Marsh (Australia)
Corey Pavin (United States)
Hal Sutton (United States)
Female Competitor (5)
Susie Maxwell Berning (United States)
Beverly Hanson (United States)
Sandra Palmer (United States)
Dottie Pepper (United States)
Jan Stephenson (Australia)
Lifetime Achievement (3)
Peggy Kirk Bell (United States)
Billy Payne (United States)
Dennis Walters (United States)
Veterans (3)
Jim Ferrier (Australia)
Catherine Lacoste (France)
Calvin Peete (United States)
The list of finalists was handed down by a Selection Sub-Committee comprised of 20 individuals, including six World Golf Hall of Fame Members: Donna Caponi Byrnes, Juli Inkster, Hale Irwin, Nick Price, Curtis Strange and Karrie Webb. This group was responsible for overseeing the vetting process that commenced in June and culminated with the Sub-Committee’s selection of finalists that will be presented to the Selection Commission.
“The Selection Sub-Committee had a big task to complete, and every member is to be commended for their effort and commitment in choosing the 15 best candidates,” said Jack Peter, President of the World Golf Hall of Fame & Museum. “We are proud of the energy and thoroughness of the voting system and eagerly await the final results, which will be announced on October 10.”
Before gaining consideration, each finalist met the necessary qualifications in his or her respective category by way of on-course accomplishments or by significant contributions to the game.
The Selection Commission, Co-Chaired by Hall of Fame Members Nancy Lopez, Jack Nicklaus, Gary Player and Annika Sorenstam will assemble next week to discuss the merits and vote on the 15 finalists. Additionally, all living Hall of Fame Members provided personal input to the Selection Commission as it relates to the group of finalists.
To be inducted, an individual must receive approval from at least 75% of the Selection Commission. This group will ultimately elect the Class of 2019, which will be inducted in Pebble Beach, California on June 10, 2019, the week of the men’s US Open Championship. The Induction Ceremony will take place at the Sunset Centre in Carmel-by-the-Sea.

Related Articles

PGA of Japan Salutes Heroic Hideki

Tokyo, Japan: The Professional Golfers’ Association of Japan has hailed Hideki Matsuyama for becoming the first Japanese winner of the Masters Tournament and the country’s first male Major champion.

Read More »
We hope that you enjoy and value the information provided by the AGIF on our website and via our other multi-media channels. As a not-for-profit organisation, the AGIF relies largely upon membership dues to fund its operations. This is especially true during the Covid-19 period. AGIF Membership also has its privileges. In joining the AGIF, you will have the opportunity to publicise your brand and activities and participate in the Federation’s educational events at discounted prices. We welcome you to join the AGIF. In doing so, you will be supporting your brand and the industry. For more information, please see Membership Benefit page.