Asia Overpowered by Single-Minded Europeans

Europe’s triumphant team. Picture by Getty Images.

Shah Alam, Malaysia: Belgium’s Thomas Pieters scored the winning point as Europe produced a dominant display in the singles matches to win the 2018 EurAsia Cup presented by DRB-HICOM.
Thomas Bjørn’s visitors began the day one point behind Asia but won seven of their first eight matches to successfully complete the defence of their crown with several matches still out on course at Glenmarie Golf and Country Club.
Europe ran out 14-10 winners after securing eight victories in the singles session, with Asia managing just three wins and the other match finishing all square.
Ryder Cup star Pieters made a blistering start against An Byeong-hun, winning four of the first six holes without reply to establish a healthy lead. But the Korean bounced back in style and took the eighth, ninth, 12th and 14th to level the match.
Pieters then curled in his tricky seven-foot putt at the 15th to regain the lead, before winning another hole at the next to ensure Europe would retain the trophy at very least.
After An holed his birdie putt at the 17th, the final hole was halved in fours and Pieters could celebrate delivering the winning point.
Pieters said: “It’s always nice to get the winning point. I got off to a good start, then played pretty poorly during the middle, then made a couple of very good birdies.”
Alex Noren set the ball rolling for Europe, beating Nicholas Fung 4 and 2 in the lead match to level the tournament at 6½-6½.
Rafa Cabrera Bello then beat Gavin Green 4 and 3 before Race to Dubai champion Tommy Fleetwood made it three in a row with a 2 and 1 victory against SSP Chawrasia.
Poom Saksansin got Asia’s first point of the day when he beat Paul Casey by one hole but Henrik Stenson soon put another blue point on the board, beating Hideto Tanihara 2 and 1.
Thomas Pieters is congratulated by Ben An. Picture by Getty Images.

Bernd Wiesberger and Alex Levy then closed out their wins against Phachara Khongwatmai and Kiradech Aphibarnrat respectively to put Europe within a single point of victory.
And Pieters held on against An to secure the deciding point.
Englishman Tyrrell Hatton then beat Anirban Lahiri 2 and 1 before Matthew Fitzpatrick halved his match against Kang Sung-hoon.
Asia won the final two matches, with Li Haotong and Yuta Ikeda beating Paul Dunne and Ross Fisher respectively.

Related Articles

We hope that you enjoy and value the information provided by the AGIF on our website and via our other multi-media channels. As a not-for-profit organisation, the AGIF relies largely upon membership dues to fund its operations. This is especially true during the Covid-19 period. AGIF Membership also has its privileges. In joining the AGIF, you will have the opportunity to publicise your brand and activities and participate in the Federation’s educational events at discounted prices. We welcome you to join the AGIF. In doing so, you will be supporting your brand and the industry. For more information, please see Membership Benefit page.

Please Subscribe to our Newsletter

Unsubscribe at Anytime | Privacy Policy