Murphy Nominated for Second Term as USGA President

Diane Murphy. Picture by USGA
Diana Murphy. Picture by USGA

Far Hills, New Jersey, United States: Diana Murphy has been nominated to serve a second one-year term as the 64th President of the United States Golf Association by the USGA Nominating Committee, as the organisation prepares for its 123rd year of service to the game of golf.
In addition, there are three newly nominated candidates for the 15-member Executive Committee: Thomas Barkin, Stephen Beebe and William Siart. Their collective experience encompasses expertise in strategic planning and non-profit leadership, as well as a passion for environmental sustainability.
If elected at the USGA’s Annual Meeting on February 4, 2017, they will replace retiring members William Fallon, Malcolm Holland and Asuka Nakahara.
“Bill, Asuka and Malcolm have shared their time and experience to help guide the USGA through one of the most pivotal strategic planning periods in our history,” said Murphy. “I have been privileged to work with them and all of the successful professionals with such diverse talents who have advanced the game and the USGA’s leadership of it. Volunteers have always been at the heart of our mission, and we appreciate all they have done and will continue to do.”
The committee also nominated Mark Newell, a four-year Executive Committee member, as President-elect. The new officer position replaces the role of Vice President eliminated in 2016, and supports succession planning for future association leadership.
Newell, who served as USGA general counsel in 2011-12, currently chairs the USGA Rules of Golf Committee. He has focused significant efforts on a multi-year Rules modernisation project led by the USGA and The R&A and he continues to provide support and leadership toward the development of a world handicap system.
Current officers Sheila Johnson and George Still have been nominated to continue their service as secretary and treasurer, respectively.
The eight committee members nominated to continue their service are: Michael Bailey, Stuart Francis, Thomas Hough, Robert Kain, Martha Lang, Gregory Morrison, Mark Reinemann and Clifford Shahbaz.
In addition, Robert Weber has been nominated to serve a second term as USGA general counsel.

Related Articles

2021 USGA Executive Committee Nominations Announced

New Jersey, United States: The United States Golf Association has announced three new nominees to its 15-member Executive Committee – Chuck Brymer, Chairman of DDB Worldwide; Cathy Engelbert, Commissioner of the WNBA and former Deloitte CEO; and Anthony Petitti, President of Sports and Entertainment for Activision Blizzard.

Read More »
We hope that you enjoy and value the information provided by the AGIF on our website and via our other multi-media channels. As a not-for-profit organisation, the AGIF relies largely upon membership dues to fund its operations. This is especially true during the Covid-19 period. AGIF Membership also has its privileges. In joining the AGIF, you will have the opportunity to publicise your brand and activities and participate in the Federation’s educational events at discounted prices. We welcome you to join the AGIF. In doing so, you will be supporting your brand and the industry. For more information, please see Membership Benefit page.