Lahiri Wins Hilton Asian Tour Golfer of the Year

Anirban Lahiri enjoyed a memorable 2015 season, culminating in winning the Hilton Asian Tour Golfer of Year.
Anirban Lahiri enjoyed a memorable 2015 season, culminating in winning the Hilton Asian Tour Golfer of Year.

Singapore: Indian Anirban Lahiri has been voted as the Hilton Asian Tour Golfer of Year by fans in an on-line poll.
Lahiri reinforced his stature as one of the global game’s rising young stars with a season to remember in 2015.
Having triumphed at the Maybank Malaysian Open and Hero Indian Open, he went on to finish tied fifth at last year’s PGA Championship.
He also became the first Indian to feature at The Presidents Cup and ended the year by winning the Asian Tour Order of Merit title and finishing in 40th place in the world rankings.
“Many thanks to all my fans who voted for me for the Hilton Asian Tour Golfer of the Year. Starting out the year, finishing in the world’s top-50 and winning the Asian Tour Order of Merit were two of my main goals and I’m delighted to have achieved this target.
“I look forward to another memorable season in 2016 with the continued support and encouragement from everyone,” said Lahiri.
Mark Liversidge, Vice President, Marketing – Asia Pacific, Hilton Worldwide said: “On behalf of Hilton Worldwide I would like to congratulate Anirban on receiving this accolade. He was a very deserving winner of the inaugural monthly award last September and is always a favourite with golf fans across Asia.
“Our Hilton Asian Tour Golfer of the Month and Golfer of the Year awards are an opportunity for the fans to show their support for the top playing professionals and for Hilton to recognise their efforts across the year and celebrate their success, whether it’s a tournament victory or a moment of magic on the course.”
Hilton Worldwide is a Full Business Member of the Asian Golf Industry Federation.
The Hilton Asian Tour Golfer of the Month award aims to recognise outstanding efforts of Asian Tour members both at home and abroad.
The on-line voting contest at to determine the monthly winner engages golf fans as they vote for their favourite golfer.
Besides casting their vote for their favourite player, fans, who log onto also stand a chance to win a one night stay at any Hilton property of their choice.
Lahiri won the award ahead of Thai Thongchai Jaidee, Malaysian Danny Chia and Philippines’ Miguel Tabuena. The quartet were nominated by a selection panel before going into a voting process.
Thongchai won once in Europe and posted eight other top-10s last year to jump to a career high 28th position in the world while Chia ended his 13-year title drought by winning the Mercuries Taiwan Masters.
Tabuena, meanwhile, became the first Filipino to win his country’s national Open since 2008.

Related Articles

High-Profile Trio Elected to USGA Executive Committee

New Jersey, United States: Chuck Brymer, Chairman of DDB Worldwide, Cathy Engelbert, Commissioner of the Women’s National Basketball Association and retired Deloitte CEO, and Anthony Petitti, President of Sports and Entertainment for Activision Blizzard, have been elected to the Executive Committee of the USGA.

Read More »
We hope that you enjoy and value the information provided by the AGIF on our website and via our other multi-media channels. As a not-for-profit organisation, the AGIF relies largely upon membership dues to fund its operations. This is especially true during the Covid-19 period. AGIF Membership also has its privileges. In joining the AGIF, you will have the opportunity to publicise your brand and activities and participate in the Federation’s educational events at discounted prices. We welcome you to join the AGIF. In doing so, you will be supporting your brand and the industry. For more information, please see Membership Benefit page.