Murphy Nominated as USGA's Second Female President

Diana Murphy. Picture by USGA
Diana Murphy. Picture by USGA

Far Hills, New Jersey, United States: Diana Murphy has been nominated to serve a one-year term as the 64th President of the United States Golf Association [USGA].

The election of officers and the 15-member USGA Executive Committee will take place on February 6, 2016, at the USGA’s Annual Meeting in San Diego.

“I am deeply honoured,” said Murphy. “Since first being introduced to the USGA in 1988, I have had opportunities to watch the organisation evolve and develop stronger relationships with members, golf facilities and industry colleagues. Golf has greatly benefited from the leaders and volunteers who have come before us, and who continue to give back to the game. 

“While having the privilege to serve on the Executive Committee, I have worked closely with Mike Davis, the Executive Director of the USGA, as he built a diverse management team to reflect the strategic focus of the association. Together, we remain focused on the health, enjoyment, values and traditions of this wonderful game at all levels of ability.”

In her fifth year as a member of the USGA Executive Committee, Murphy currently chairs the Championship and Compensation committees and serves on the Audit and Corporate Partners committees.
Murphy has been formally associated with the USGA since 1996, when she became a member of the USGA Membership Committee. She joined the Executive Committee in 2011, and has chaired several committees during her tenure, including the Commercial (2012-13), Compensation (2014), Finance (2012-14) and US Senior Amateur Championship (2014) committees, in addition to her current responsibilities. She was elected Treasurer in 2013 and Vice President in 2014 and 2015.
Murphy, 59, is the Managing Director of Rocksolid Holdings, LLC, a private-equity firm focused on small business and real estate in the Southeast. She is also Managing Director of the Georgia Research Alliance Venture Fund, which supports the state’s public and private research universities.
Murphy earned her bachelor’s degree in journalism from West Virginia University in 1978, and holds an advanced executive business degree from Northwestern University.
She is the second woman in the association’s 121-year history to be nominated as President, following Judy Bell, who served as USGA President in 1996 and 1997.
Two other current members of the Executive Committee have also been nominated to serve as officers. They are Sheila Johnson, to continue as Secretary, and George Still Jr as Treasurer.

The other 10 current members of the Executive Committee nominated to continue their service are: William E. Fallon; J. Stuart Francis; C. Malcolm Holland III; G. Thomas Hough; Robert D. Kain; Martha J. Lang; Gregory B. Morrison; Asuka Nakahara; Mark E. Newell and Mark P. Reinemann

There are two newly nominated candidates for the 2016 Executive Committee: J. Michael Bailey and Clifford J. Shahbaz. Robert C. Weber has been nominated as General Counsel.

Two current members of the Executive Committee will retire at the 2016 Annual Meeting: Thomas J. O’Toole Jr and William W. (Skip) Gist IV. Ernest J. Getto will also retire as General Counsel.

Related Articles

We hope that you enjoy and value the information provided by the AGIF on our website and via our other multi-media channels. As a not-for-profit organisation, the AGIF relies largely upon membership dues to fund its operations. This is especially true during the Covid-19 period. AGIF Membership also has its privileges. In joining the AGIF, you will have the opportunity to publicise your brand and activities and participate in the Federation’s educational events at discounted prices. We welcome you to join the AGIF. In doing so, you will be supporting your brand and the industry. For more information, please see Membership Benefit page.

Please Subscribe to our Newsletter

Unsubscribe at Anytime | Privacy Policy